Councillor Craig Holden

Ward 4 Clackmannanshire South (Multi Member Ward) Kilncraigs, Greenside Street, Alloa, FK10 1EB

Telephone: 01259 452283 Email: cholden@clacks.gov.uk



Motion to Meeting of Clackmannanshire Council 2nd February 2023

Freedom of Clackmannanshire

Former Councillor Derek Stewart was first elected as a Clackmannan District Councillor in May 1988 and was subsequently re-elected in 1992. He was then elected as a Councillor to the new unitary authority in 1995 and continued in this role until May 2022 for an uninterrupted 34 years of public service. He has also served as the Provost of Clackmannanshire Council on three occasions.

The Freedom of Clackmannanshire is the greatest tribute that the Council can confer on a person and the level of dedication and commitment to public service shown by Derek Stewart over 34 years marks him as a person of distinction who is worthy of such an honour.

Council is requested, therefore, to agree that Derek Stewart is admitted on the Clackmannanshire Roll as an honorary Freeperson of the Council area in recognition of his contribution to local democracy and public life.



Councillor Craig Holden Ward 4, Clackmannanshire South

Received: 23 January 2023